Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Choice Music Prize 2010

The Choice Music Prize is the annual Irish critics prize for finest Irish album of the year. It has been on the go since 2005, with Julie Feeney, Divine Comedy, Super Extra Bonus Party and Jape as the previous winners.

This year, I have been kindly asked to judge the prize! I submitted my top ten albums in December. Today the shortlist was announced, and here it is! (in no particular order)

And So I Watch You From Afar - And So I Watch You From Afar (Smalltown
Bell X1 - Blue Lights On The Runway (BellyUp)
Codes - Trees Dream in Algebra (EMI)
Adrian Crowley - Season of the Sparks (Chemikal Underground)
Dark Room Notes - We Love You Dark Matter (Gonzo)
The Duckworth Lewis Method - The Duckworth Lewis Method (1969/Divine Comedy
Julie Feeney - Pages (Mittens)
Valerie Francis - Slow Dynamo (VF)
Laura Izibor - Let The Truth Be Told (Atlantic)
The Swell Season - Strict Joy (Plateau)

It's all very exciting! The event and prize itself takes place on March 3rd in Vicar Street in Dublin with some of the acts playing on the night and the judges being locked in a room to decide on a winner. I'll be locked in that room with the following fine folk

Martin Burns (News of the World)
Roisin Dwyer (Hot Press)
Tony Fenton (Today FM)
Cathal Funge (Phantom FM)
Padraic Halpin (Ragged Words)
Sophie Gorman (Irish Independent)
John McMahon (Head of 2fm)
Rob O¹Connor (Beat 102-103, Waterford)
Eva Staic (Spin FM)
Chris Wasser (Evening Herald)
Aoife Woodlock (Other Voices)

Jaysus, I'm a happy camper!

No comments:

Post a Comment